Random Thoughts in the Fog

“All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.” 

~Friedrich Nietzsche

fog reflection

It is very early morning in the suburb of Beaverton. I have the opportunity of taking my time and walking a foggy two miles to work from the train station.  I need the exercise and so away I go! 

FOG tower

This thick foggy atmosphere is perfect for an impromptu photo shoot. Beaverton is a very marshy place. I suppose it is called Beaverton because perhaps at one time actual beavers lived here. Now there are streets and businesses and many parking lots with empty fields and streams in between.

foggy field

This fog is a dramatic backdrop to these shots and lends an air of drama and mystery to otherwise run-of-the-mill fields and streams. It reminds me of how the English or Scottish countryside may look in the fog but I have never been to either one of those places, perhaps someone could enlighten me….

fog trees

I am taking my time and this gives me the chance to pause to reflect along the way….

Keeping on keeping on…

~SBI

fog reflection2

“We humans are conflicted beings. Our beliefs don’t always harmonize with our instincts, and our behavior doesn’t always reflect our beliefs. … We wage war between the person we are and the person we hope to become.” 

~ Brandon Mull

12 thoughts on “Random Thoughts in the Fog

  1. I always enjoy fog. It relaxes us from our harsh realities of life. “We humans are conflicted beings. Our beliefs don’t always harmonize with our instincts, and our behavior doesn’t always reflect our beliefs. … We wage war between the person we are and the person we hope to become.”
    ~ Brandon Mull
    A meaningful quote! Thanks SBI!

  2. Photos in fog are very atmospheric, and I can imagine all sorts of things existing just out of view… that one of the trees on the green hill is lovely. And yes. it does look English!

Join the conversation!

