In search of SPRING

Spring is in the air! Let's enjoy some sunshine!

Spring is in the air! Let’s enjoy some sunshine!

It was one of those days that are typical in the Pacific Northwest in late winter; sunny one minute, cloudy the next with a few rain showers and a spot of hail to liven things up. I admit that I get somewhat antsy this time of year. I can’t wait to get outside and I yearn to enjoy the spring weather that is supposedly on its way.

Waiting by the windows I am forlorn one minute; watching for the sky to brighten and when it does, I am like a restless cat.  I start to pace and mew insistently until someone lets me out. Time is of the essence here, so when the elusive sun did peek its shiny head out of the clouds, I persuaded MM to accompany me to one of my favorite parks in order to take advantage of the rare light.

Being part optimist I grabbed my sunglasses and being part realist I grabbed my umbrella and we headed out the door. The sun was shining and we were in great spirits, but by the time we got there the sky had turned a bitter gray once again. Oh well, if we let gray skies stop us we’d never leave the house.

Laurelhurst Park is one of those old-fashioned neighborhood parks that I love.  It has winding trails, mature trees and even a duck pound with the pretentious name of Firwood Lake.

Ducks at Firwood Lake

The ducks at Firwood Lake enjoy the warmer springish weather

I must admit despite the weather, it was nice to get out.  I decided to make a game of it and search for signs of Spring and record them with my camera as evidence that yes indeed, Spring is on its way to the rainy and gray Pacific Northwest!

Dog enjoys the ducks at Firwood Lake

A dog enjoys the ducks at Firwood Lake

Chinese Witch Hazel

Chinese Witch Hazel in bloom

White Camellia

White Camellia

“Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as long as life lasts. There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature — the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after winter.”  

  ~Rachel Carson

.

A Little Pretty, Today (ajasnorthwestlife.wordpress.com)

Pacific Northwest Winter (acelebrationofwonder.wordpress.com)

Northwest a treasure trove of awesome weather photographers (komonews.com)

Laurelhurst Park (picturesinlivingcolor.wordpress.com)

14 thoughts on “In search of SPRING

  1. Pingback: Spring is in the air | Librarian for Life and Style

  2. YES!!! We had sun this weekend for the first time in 8 weeks. Makes me want to turn flips (as if…) as I walk in the spring air. I loved your tour of the park. Glad you got a few moments of sunshine!

  3. You always find such great quotes! Love the Rachel Carson quote as it says it all. I’m glad you could enjoy some fresh spring air in the park – the witch hazel and camellia are lovely. Next time you feel like a walk outdoors, wait till it’s dull and rainy and by the time you get to the park it’ll be bright sunshine! 😉 (Well, in theory… ) 😀 Have a great weekend Strawberryindigo!

    • Hey Cathy, That is a great idea and it may work. Today happens to be very Springlike and in a few minutes after I finish my tea I’m off to go work in the yard….finally! You have a great weekend as well! 🙂

Join the conversation!

