Dare to Dream

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”

-Harriet Tubman

…Sometimes dreams are all we have.  Stubborn hopes clung to in the dark of night…hang on as tight as you can and we just may see morning…

The decision to allow oneself to dare to dream is often more difficult than the attainment of the dream. It’s a scary thing to stick one’s neck out and declare to the world this is what I want!  This is what I am!
I think one must be courageous to be an artist. To face criticism and scrutiny, sometimes even ridicule from one’s peers. Oh what a prospect and what a daunting task but the artist cannot do otherwise and is compelled regardless of all this.

-Strawberryindigo.

“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.”

 –Oscar Wilde

BE INSPIRED!

    “I HAVE A DREAM”– Speech by Martin Luther King Jr.  (You Tube)

Susan Boyle sings “I Dreamed a Dream” (You Tube)

“Dreams” by The Cranberries (Video) (You Tube)

10 thoughts on “Dare to Dream

  1. That decision to allow yourself to dream, to say what you want, is daring. It is declaring yourself to be real and important and deserving of the dream. And brave enough to face the possible outcomes of the dream not coming true, or (perhaps even scarier) the dream manifesting into reality. I think once you decide that you deserve to be an artist or a writer or a musician or whatever way of marking your existence on this planet fits for you – once you dare to dream – there is no turning back. That path becomes the only way open to you, as you said, despite ridicule or criticism or the aloneness that results when no one understands why you must walk that path. But it is by daring to dream that we become truly alive.
    This is a beautifully written post, Nancy, and the photographs are so evocative, capturing the moments between what is and what is about to be – perfect for your topic.

    • Hi Janet, Thanks for the encouragement. You have been so encouraging and thoughtful. I appreciate your words and the kindness behind them. You, more than anyone in this crazy virtual world of ours, have been supportive in my efforts to see a dream realised. When I get published I will give you a big thanks, for now except my small and humble thanks. You are a special person. I’m glad to know you.

      • You are so welcome! Your writing is thoughtful and soulful and should be read and shared with the wider world. We need people who support us as we dare to dream. If it were not for the people who held the vision of me being a musician, when I could not yet see it, I would not be able to call myself a musician for myself today. I see you and know you as a writer, and I love being a witness to your dream emerging and becoming real. I am very glad the crazy random blog world brought us together and that I know you!

        • Hi Janet: Thanks for your support. You have been so wonderful and supportive to me from the start and I can’t convey in words how much that means to me. I am a shy reserved sort of person in real life. Writing has helped me in that regard. You have helped me. Your friendship is important to me and I’m so glad to know you. You inspire me. Thanks for that Janet.
          Viva la crazy randomness! 🙂

          • Oh Nancy, what you wrote is so sweet and makes my heart feel warm and cozy. I appreciate knowing you too. You are a wonderful companion as we take our private thoughts and hopes and dreams, and feel our way out into the world, putting what is in our hearts out for the world to see.

Join the conversation!

