A song of spring

A   S o n g   o f   S p r i n g

by Strawberryindigo.

Hello beautiful

As soon as February hits the anticipation starts on a simmer and by

months end it’s on full boil. Spring is my all time favorite season and it

makes me giddy just thinking about it.

I can feel the season approach, there is a certain hopeful energy that fills

the crisp wintry air. I can smell it and I can definitely hear it.  It is the

song of spring and every morning as of late I greet the day on the back

porch to the song sung by a few early birds; the crows and the chickadees

and a loud bird of prey that has been calling for a mate from atop a very

tall pine.

Yellow Crocus and Dragon's Blood Sedum

My mind swims with plans and schemes for the coming season; A Golden

Linden tree for the front yard, roses for the back, a new stepping

stone path and an extended herb garden. 

 I get quite ambitious this time of year but rarely do I achieve all my goals

in any one season. That is just fine with me as I have learned to take these

things slowly in order to fully appreciate the whole experience.

Dragon's Blood Sedum with Fern

It gets quite rainy here in the Pacific Northwest.  That is why it is so green

You get used to it and learn to take advantage of the rare sunbreaks

to pop outside and breathe it all in. The flowers love it as well.  I the catch

the happy yellow crocus greeting the warming rays of the late winter sun. 

 What an uplifting sight!

 Happy yellow crocus in the sunshine

8 thoughts on “A song of spring

  1. Pingback: Down to Earth « Pictures in living color

  2. Pingback: What a difference one day can make « Pictures in living color

    • Hi Maggie, I wish I could send some spring your way. Thanks for liking my post. I think soon you will be taking some incredible photos of spring where you are. By the way, Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!! You totally deserve it.

    • Hi Maggie, I wish I could send some spring your way. Thanks for liking my post. I think soon you will be taking some incredible photos of spring where you are. By the way, Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!! You totally deserve it.

  3. I love spring, too! And I’ve been thinking up great plans for my balcony – I wonder if I will achieve these? I love the smells and sounds of spring…it is a truly wonderful season.

    • Hey loveoutloud: Nice to see you here. I too love spring! I think that it’s fantastic that you have your balcony. plants can always grow up, right. I bet it will be beautiful and green by this summer….ahhh summer…don’t get me started. Thanks for coming by. I will have to visit you soon. 🙂

Join the conversation!

